Big Bash League BBL Final Winner List (2011-12 till Now)

The Big Bash League (BBL), Australia’s premier T20 cricket competition, set its roots in 2011. This high-octane tournament has displayed phenomenal players and extraordinary faceoffs in its history. How about going down memory lane and exploring the League Winners list?

In all Big Bash League seasons, the players under the leadership of their captains have shown their cricketing skills in full glory. Perth Scorchers have come triumphant the most times in BBL history making its name remarkable in the records of the most thrilling tournaments. 

In this guide, you will read about Big Bash League BBL winners from season 1 to the latest season. 

KFC Big Bash League Trophy Winners List(Men)

Perth Scorchers dominate the BBL trophy winners list. This team is the defending champion of the upcoming Big Bash League 2023-24 which is scheduled in December. The following teams have proudly lifted the BBL trophy. 

BBL SeasonsWinnerRunner Up
2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2022-23Perth ScorchersBrisbane Heat

BBL Winning Captains List

The following captains have made their teams win the BBL title. 

YearWinning TeamCaptain Name
2011Sydney SixersSteven Smith
2012Brisbane HeatChris Hartley
2013Perth ScorchersSimon Katich
2014Perth ScorchersAdam Voges
2015Sydney ThunderMichael Hussey
2016Perth ScorchersAdam Voges
2017Adelaide StrikersTravis Head
2018Melbourne RenegadesAaron Finch
2019Sydney SixersMoises Henriques
2020Sydney SixersMoises Henriques
2021Perth ScorchersAshton Agar
2022Perth ScorchersAshton Turner

Most Wins in BBL

Perth Scorchers have marked the BBL title 5 times to its name. It will be interesting to watch how Perth Scorchers defend their title in BBL 2023-24. Sydney Sixers is following Perth Scorchers in the BBL winner’s list as it has claimed the BBL trophy 3 times. 

BBL TeamsBBL TitleWinning Years
Perth Scorchers52013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2021-22, 2022-23
Sydney Sixers32011-12, 2019-20, 2020-21
Brisbane Heat12012-13
Sydney Thunder12015-16
Adelaide Strikers12017-18
Melbourne Renegades12018-19

If you want to watch the BBL try these Apps!

BBL 2011-12 Winner

Sydney Sixers will always be remembered for holding the BBL trophy in the inaugural season. The final was played between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers. Steven Smith made his team make the most runs and won the BBL 2011-12 title.

BBL Champions 2012-13

Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers came face to face in the finals of the BBL 2012-13. Brisbane Heat made their first win under the leadership of Chris Hartley in the BBL 2012-13 at Perth. Perth Scorchers were once again the runner-up in this season. 

Big Bash 2013-14 Winner

After being the runner-up of the two seasons, Perth Scorchers hold the BBL 2013-14 trophy under the leadership of Simon Katich. This was truly the start of the Perth Scorchers winning the title of the BBL. Hobart Hurricanes finished the tournament as runners-up.

Big Bash League Winner 2014-15

Perth Scorchers defeated Sydney Sixers and made consecutive wins for the second time in the BBL 2014-15. This time Adam Voges led the Perth Scorchers. 

BBL 2015-16 Winner

In the BBL 2015-16 finals, Sydney Thunder came triumphant for the first time with Mike Hussey as the team captain. This final was played between Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars. 

Winner of BBL 2016-17

In BBL 2016-17, Perth Scorchers won their 3rd title against Sydney Sixers by nine wickets. Adam Voges led Perth Scorchers in BBL 2016-17. 

BBL 2017-18 Winner

Adelaide Strikers hold the BBL 2017-18 title. Hobart Hurricane finished the tournament as runner-up. Travis Head was the captain of the Adelaide Strikers.

BBL 2018-19 Champion

Melbourne Renegades glorified the BBL 2018-19 final with its win. Melbourne Renegade beat Melbourne Stars by 13 runs in the finals. Aaron Finch was the captain of the Melbourne Renegades.

BBL 2019-20 Winner

Sydney Sixers defeated Melbourne Stars by 19 runs in BBL 2019-20 and won the title. The team was led by Moises Henriques.

BBL 2020-21 Title Winner

Sydney Sixers claimed its 3rd BBL title by defeating Perth Scorchers by 27 runs. Moises Henriques led the Sydney Sixers and it was the 2nd BBL title for Henriques as captain.

Big Bash 2021-22 Winner

Perth Scorchers came against Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash 2021-22 final match. Perth Scorchers made 171 runs and defeated Sydney Sixers by 79 runs.

Big Bash 2022-23 Winner

Perth Scorchers have claimed its 5th title in the Big Bash 2022-23 against Brisbane Heat. 

Ashton Turner led the team to this great win. 

Who is the Most Successful Team in BBL? 

Perth Scorchers is the most successful team in BBL. It has claimed the BBL title 5 times in the BBL history in 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2021-22, and 2022-23. Simon Katich, Adam Voges, Ashton Agar, and Ashton Turner have led Perth Scorchers. 

Women’s Big Bash League Winners List

Here is the list of the WBBL winners list all these years:

2015-16Sydney Thunder
2016-17Sydney Sixers
2017-18Sydney Sixers
2018-19Brisbane Heat
2019-20Brisbane Heat
2020-21Sydney Thunder
2021-22Perth Scorchers
2022-23Adelaide Strikers

Most Successful Teams

Sydney Sixers2
Sydney Thunder2
Brisbane Heat2


You have by far collected knowledge about the BBL Trophy Winner List, the BBL winning captains list and the most wins in BBL. Big Bash League and WBBL aim to display the grandest tournaments and the marquee players in star-studded lineups. 

Spread the love

Leave a Comment