IPL Orange Cap Winners List

The IPL Orange Cap honors the batsman with the most runs in a season. It’s been awarded since 2008, with legends like Kohli and Gayle holding it, and Warner the record holder with three wins.

IPL Orange Cap Holder List

YearWinnerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate
2024Virat Kohli (2nd Time)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)74161.75154.69
2023Shubman GillGujarat Titans89059.33157.80
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals86354.56147.96
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings63545.35136.23
2020KL RahulKings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings)67055.83149.87
2019David Warner (3rd Time)Sunrisers Hyderabad69247.83143.02
2018Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad73552.46135.41
2017David Warner (2nd Time)Sunrisers Hyderabad64147.69141.33
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)97381.08152.03
2015David WarnerDelhi Daredevils (Now Delhi Capitals)52838.40151.51
2014Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders66347.71126.76
2013Michael HusseyChennai Super Kings73352.35129.35
2012Chris Gayle (2nd Time)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)73961.58168.78
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)60961.44184.91
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians61847.38146.21
2009Matthew HaydenChennai Super Kings54645.50146.77
2008Shaun MarshKings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings)61543.92140.28

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

IPL has set some standards. There are specific rules that are considered in this regard. 

  • The orange cap is given to the player who has scored the most runs in the season, regardless of whether his IPL team has won the trophy. It is regardless of the IPL Jersey of the teams.
  • The batsman who holds the orange cap can wear it in the field if he retains the top-scorer spot in the tournament.
  • In an event where two or more batsmen have encountered the same number of runs, the batsman with the better strike rate is rewarded with an orange cap. 
  • In an event where the batters overtake the number of runs of the current holder of the orange cap, the previous holder is allowed to wear the cap until the end of the particular innings in which another batsman overtakes him. 
  • At the end of the season, a cap-shaped orange trophy is presented to the winner. 
  • The player with the highest runs is presented with a usual orange cap at the end of the match during the tournament. 

Year-wise IPL Orange Cap Winners List

Let’s check out the IPL Stats for Orange Cap winners individually. 

2008 – Shaun Marsh

Shaun Marsh is always remembered as the first cricketer to earn an orange cap in IPL history. He was awarded Orange Cap in IPL’s inaugural season (2008). Playing for Kings XI Punjab, he made 616 runs against Rajasthan Royals and emerged as a critical player of his team that season. He marked his name on the topmost position by scoring 616 runs with a century and five half-centuries throughout the IPL. 

2009 – Matthew Hayden

In 2009, die-hard cricket fans raised their expectations for IPL. This year, Matthew Hayden comes to the forefront for winning Orange Cap. He became his team, Chennai Super Kings’ best player, by scoring 572 runs, a tremendous five fifties in 12 matches. Due to his extraordinary batting, he led his team to the semi-finals and is considered a CSK legend. 

2010 – Sachin Tendulkar

This season brought smiles to patriotic Indian cricket fans. Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian cricketer awarded with Orange Cap. This year he was the player of the tournament who smashed 618 runs breaking the record of Shaun’s 616 runs in the IPL season. He guided Mumbai Indians to the Finals.

2011 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle was prominent in the IPL 2011 as a player of Royal Challengers Bangalore. His impressive batting, three fifties, and two centuries baffled all the sportspeople. In an outraged season of IPL, he won Orange Cap by being the tournament’s highest scorer. He made a total of 608 runs in 12 matches. 

2012 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle is the only player who retains the orange cap for two consecutive years. Chris Gayle dominated IPL 2012 as he averaged 733 runs in 15 matches. His stunning batting leads him to earn 7 fifties and a century. He was the first player to score the highest runs of 733 in a   season. 

2013 – Micheal Hussey

The Australian batsman Micheal Hussey is known as Mr. Cricket throughout the IPL 2013. He performed tremendously this season, so he was rewarded with an Orange Cap trophy and earned a name of good luck for his team Chennai Super Kings. Cricket lovers will remember Hussey as he scored 733 runs, outshining Chris Gayle’s performance in the last edition. 

2014 – Robin Uthappa 

The player Robin Uthappa, the highest scorer in IPL 2014, contributed a lot and made his team Kolkata Knight Riders, win the IPL trophy.  He proved to be the best player for his team by gracing the scoreboard with 660 runs and five half-centuries. He is the second Indian player to be crowned with an orange cap. 

2015 – David Warner

As the captain of the team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, David Warners becomes the 4th Australian to win an orange cap in the IPL 2014. In 14 matches, he bagged 562 runs and supported his team to withstand the IPL.

2016 – Virat Kohli

The king of IPL is Virat Kohli. 2016 has been a shining year for Virat Kohli, the IPL, and the Indian Nation. Kohli scored an unbelievable 973 runs in the tournament, the record-breaking highest score in a single edition until now. This season, Virat Kohli proudly received his first orange cap by scoring 973 runs and four centuries. 

2017 – David Warner 

Sunrisers Hyderabad wins the 2016 IPL because of David Warners. He came to the forefront again with his stunning batting performance, became the highest scorer to score 641 in 14 matches, and was crowned with an orange cap for the second time. 

2018 – Kane Williamson

The captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 proved to be a great player for his team. He made 735 runs and won an orange cap. Under his captaincy, his team reached the finals this season. He was the first player from New Zealand to grace the owner of an orange cap. 

2019 – David Warner

David Warner needs no introduction, as he is the only player who has embraced the orange cap thrice in the IPL history. He is well known for his batting abilities and 692 runs in just 12 innings, including a brilliant century against Kolkata Knight Riders. 

2020 – KL Rahul 

Kings XI Punjab’s skipper KL Rahul scored the highest of 670 runs in IPL 2020. His efforts brought various wins to his teams. Rahul achieved a prominent place in the IPL by being the captain of the Kings XI Punjab. He has made a remarkable five fifties and a century. For the consecutive three seasons, Rahul has crossed the 500+ runs mark in each IPL season. 

2021 – Ruturaj Gaikwad

IPL has unveiled some of the best cricket players. The same goes for Ruturaj Gaikwad, who added his name to the orange cap winner’s list and became the first youngest cricketer to win the orange cap in IPL history.  He made a record of scoring 635 runs, including seven fifties and one century. He played a crucial role in his team’s Chennai Kings, receiving the trophy of IPL this season. 

2022 – Jos Butler

Last season in IPL 2022, Jos Butler emerged as his team’s highest scorer scoring 863 runs in 17 innings, and has played a big part in the Rajasthan Royal’s runner-up year. Jos Butler graced this season with his four centuries and was also able to score the most 4s and 6s this year. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has won the most Orange Caps in IPL history?

David Warner has the honor of winning the most Orange Caps throughout IPL history. He has won the range caps thrice in his IPL career in 2015, 2017, and 2019. 

Spread the love

Leave a Comment